The crab conspiracy!

Well, on Thursday I met up with a lovely old primary school best mate of mine David! He came all the way down from Hagbourne to pay me a visit. I hadn’t seen him for 6 years! Was a lovely glorious sunny day, which we spent at Mudeford Quay, with a picnic and a spot of crab fishing! So I thought it would be lovely to share the day with you 🙂 

P.S The picture quality may be a bit…. not so good.

Me and David

Me and David

To start the day off, my good friend David drove down from Didcot/Hagbourne (in Oxfordshire), to come to New Milton/New Forest (Hampshire). Now that, is a brilliant friendship right there! To travel like 2-3hours to see a friend, that’s pretty awesome and kind hearted, and I really appreciate it, especially as he is like the only one from my primary school who still talks to me, and was literally like my best friend growing up.
Once David arrived at his destination (my house), we had to figure out what we could do for the rest of the day. Beach? Walks in the Forest? Exploring the town I live in? We eventually decided on…. Crab fishing in Mudeford. (don’t worry, we don’t actually kill and eat the crabs – just annoy them by putting them in a bucket).

Once in Mudeford, David and his Mum had brought with them a picnic, so we had a spot o’ lunch, where David gave me a bottle of the best Cider I have ever had! From France I do believe? It was lush. Thank you! 🙂

Picnic Time

Picnic Time

Next on the agenda was to buy our equipment – meaning we had to deal with fish heads and… yeah. Off to the fish mongers to get our net and bait, and then buy a bucket! Which we then had to try and figure out how to get it filled with water. David’s Mum saved the day at this point!
Also I’d like to mention, about 5 people have told me that using Bacon is a far better idea than using fish to catch crabs cos you catch more. Yeah, that kinda makes sense cos surely feeding fish to a crab is like cannibalism?

We literally caught mostly seaweed. There was just this rythm of “throw in bait…. wait…. bring up seaweed… pick off seaweed….throw in bait…. wait… bring up seaweed… pick off seaweed….throw in bait”… that was all we did… until… oh yes! We caught one!
Then it fell off.
Luckily though I just dunked the bait back in a we brought up another one. This crab dude, we literally quite angry he’d been caught. We named him Gary!

10567484_10201480594135358_799451189_n

Gary

Gary

Needless to say, we didn’t catch anything else apart from seaweed and Gary. All the same, it was great fun and was a joy to see a friend who has stuck with me, through all my madness since I was 6 years old! 12 whole years!
We’ve both been through a lot… along the lines of depression, I guess that’s what we’ve got. I’ve already written a blog on who I partly blame, kinda fits seeing a life time friend also feels the same as me. David, if you’re reading, I’m always a;ways here for you – no matter how you’re feeling. You’re a great guy, honestly you are just an amazing human being, so make sure you remember that.

Before my emotions set in… let’s move on.
You’re probably wondering why I titled this blog as “The Crab Conspiracy”. Well, as me and David were fishing for crabs, David came up with this brilliant idea, that all the crabs know what we are doing, and are attaching pieces of seaweed to our line, so that’s all we catch, BUT sometimes one crab just forgets to let go as they are attaching the pieces of seaweed, and as they are brought to the surface they literally just let go! – I swear this conspiracy is a real thing.

10582277_10201480598135458_9817001_n

 

Time to say Goodbye to David now.

Thank you so much for playing! I had a great day, very pleased that the weather was on our side as well. Sorry, I’ve only just got round to writing this. We shall have to meet up again in the future and make sure we don’t lose contact!
I want to still be reminiscing about our primary school years when we are 35.

Thank you again! For everything 🙂

 

About jodiebowie

I'm 17, I love music especially classic rock. I enjoy photography and also singing. I'm currently studying photography, media and English-language at sixth form. I love The Rolling Stones and Suede (seen both live in 2013).

Leave a comment